Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Posted: December 19, 2012 in Dinner Recipe, Lunch Recipe
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

There was a time when you couldn’t get me within 5 feet of tomato soup. I distinctly remember checking the school lunch calendar and declaring tomato soup days bring your lunch days – despite the fact that the bowl of soup came with grilled cheese. What I don’t remember is exactly when I changed my tomato soup stance.

I’m 99% sure it was in high school, but I wouldn’t swear to that. I also couldn’t tell you if it happened because I forgot to bring my lunch and was starving, or if it happened by dipping my grilled cheese crust in the soup to soften it up. Honestly, I don’t even care how or why I changed my tomato soup stance. I’m just glad I did.

Whipped: Creamy Tomato Basil Soup(pinned here)

Nailed It/Failed It: Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Verdict

Nailed it. I’m just going to go ahead and say it – this is better than Panera’s tomato soup. I doubled the recipe when we had company over, and there was literally nothing left over. Just fair warning – once you make this, you won’t be able to go back to the canned stuff. So if you’re lazy, this is not the soup for you.

Alterations

Rather than doing the basil and thyme separately, I used seasoned diced tomatoes. I also used regular milk (1%) and greek yogurt rather than the soy variety. I also recommend wearing an apron while using an immersion blender. You’re welcome.

 

 

 

Original recipe from Whipped.

Leave a comment