Toasted Ravioli

Posted: February 9, 2012 in Appetizer Recipe, Dinner Recipe
Tags: , , , ,

Let’s talk toasted ravioli, shall we?

I saw this on Pinterest and promptly  had drool all over my keyboard. That combined with the fact that the husband’s borderline obsessed with the toasted ravioli at Spaghetti Factory meant that I had to make this. Had to.

So here’s the original:

(pinned here)

And here’s what I wound up with:

I know – it looks like a colossal, greasy fail. But I promise you it wasn’t. It just looks super greasy because this is the re-heated in the microwave version (it’s not grease so much as condensation). Obviously I’m going to have to get used to taking pictures when it’s fresh.

Anyway, I was reading through the comments to see if anyone recommended any alterations to the recipe and saw someone said they baked it instead of sauteed it. This sounded like a genius (i.e. easier) plan to me, so I went with it. I think the only thing I’d do differently next time is add some Italian seasoning to the Panko mixture.

Verdict

Nailed it. The husband and I found these really quite delish (he even took leftovers for lunch 2 days which is huge), and I would definitely make them again. I served them for dinner with grilled chicken and roasted green beans, but they’d also make an excellent appetizer.

Alterations

If using frozen ravioli, boil for half the recommended cooking time (about 2 minutes).

After all ravioli are breaded, baked at 425 for 20 minutes.

Serve with sauce of your choice. I used leftover marinara, the husband used barbeque (he’s an odd one, I know).

Leave a Reply

