Crock Pot Bacon Potato Chowder

Posted: February 13, 2012 in Dinner Recipe
Tags: , , ,

Where the crap did this winter weather come from? 33 and snow/freezing rain? Not cool, Mother Nature. Not cool. Although, I’d be more annoyed if a) it wasn’t supposed to get back up into the 50’s in 2 days, and b) I hadn’t been able to make this bacon potato chowder on Saturday – in the Crock Pot (my Crock Pot and I are having a serious love affair this winter).

Here’s what I stumbled upon on Pinterest:

(pinned here)

And here’s what I wound up with (please ignore my thumb in the picture which I just realized is there):

Verdict

Nailed it. I was a little afraid I had built this up too much in my head for it to be any good, but I really enjoyed it. The husband said he liked it, too, and when he went back for seconds, I knew he wasn’t lying (seconds is the only way I know it’s not just empty words coming from him).

Alterations

I used turkey bacon (tacon) instead of Canadian bacon, minced onion instead of leek, 2/3 cup evaporated milk instead of half and half (partially because I had no half and half and partially because I realized I was using the 1/3 measuring cup instead of the 1/2 after I was in too deep to do anything about it), and didn’t measure my spices.

Leave a Reply

