Baked Oatmeal & Quiche

Posted: February 28, 2012 in Breakfast Recipe, Brunch Recipe
Tags: , , , , ,

Brunch has always been one of those mystery meals to me. Probably because I’m a creature of habit which means I like to eat my meals at “normal” meal times, and having brunch would obviously blow that all to hell. But since the husband worked all weekend and my church committee meeting meant we wouldn’t even get to have dinner together on Sunday, I threw caution to the wind and made brunch.

Originals:

Skinnytaste Baked Oatmeal with Bananas & Blueberries(pinned here)

 

Budget Bytes Crustless Spinach & Feta Quiche(pinned here)

Mine:

Baked Oatmeal & Quiche

 

Verdict

I need to make brunch more often. When I first suggested brunch, the hubs thought I meant go out to brunch and seemed slightly disappointed when I told him I’d be making it. Fast forward to Sunday morning when he repeatedly told me that it was “as good as anything you’d get at a restaurant”. As you can tell by the pictures taken after we had devoured half of everything, I was in agreement.

Alterations

Quiche

I skipped the mushrooms because I don’t do fungus. But I wanted to keep the garlic so I browned it in a bit of olive oil and added the garlic minus the olive oil to the egg mixture.

Oatmeal

None. I know. I can hardly believe it myself.

 

 

Original recipes are from Skinnytaste and Budget Bytes.

Leave a Reply

