Chicken & Broccoli Noodle Casserole

Posted: April 6, 2012 in Dinner Recipe, Skinny Recipe
Tags: , , , , , ,

You thought I was going to leave you hanging for another week, didn’t you? Well, I almost did. But you’ll have to forgive me. You see, I’ve been dying all week. (I may or may not have a tendency to get overdramatic when I’m sick.)

I haven’t been sick in 3 years, people. Three. Years. Not so much as a cold. Yet somehow a fever found its way into my system on Sunday night. Which was promptly followed by several days of feeling like death on a cracker. But I appear to be on the mend now. At least I hope so. I can’t take much more of this. And neither can my husband.

Moving on to the reason we’re all here – food. (I’d share a picture of my own, but remember that whole me dying all week thing?)

Chicken & Broccoli Noodle Casserole(pinned here)

Verdict

Nailed it. I was actually kind of surprised I liked this as much as I did. I know – that really says a lot for it. The hubs was a fan, too, as evidenced by his going back for seconds and eating leftovers without me forcing them on him. Holla.

Alterations

Out of sheer laziness, I added the broccoli to the pot of pasta and cooked it that way. Then when making the sauce, I started by browning garlic in olive oil. I also used onion instead of shallot since that’s what I had. Annnnd I’m 99.73% sure I had a much higher chicken to noodle ratio than the original. It wasn’t necessarily intentional.  Skipping the breadcrumb topping, however, was intentional.

Original recipe from Skinnytaste.

Leave a Reply

