Peanut Butter Pie

Posted: April 11, 2012 in Dessert Recipe
Tags: , , , ,

Once upon a time, I had a cookbook that contained the most delectable chocolate chunk peanut butter pie recipe in the world (the world – bonus points if you remember the Snickers commercial). Then an EF5 tornado came through and I no longer had said cookbook. Or said recipe. I spent more time than I probably should have trying to find this recipe again and kept coming up empty. Until New Year’s when my sister served this:

Peanut_Butter_Pie(found here)

While this wasn’t exactly the same as my original recipe, it was pretty darn close. So I made some alterations to make it more like my original (mostly because I’m lazy and the topping on this one seemed like a lot of work).

Peanut_Butter_Pie

Verdict

I could eat this entire pie in one sitting. And while the above photo looks like that’s exactly what I did, I actually managed to show some restraint. But I will always eat the last piece straight out of the pan. Always.

Alterations

Instead of the whole complex topping thing, I added chocolate chips to the peanut butter mixture and used all the Cool Whip in the filling. I also used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and Cool Whip Lite so I could pretend like this was health food. (There’s protein in peanut butter, people.)

Original recipe from Smucker’s.

Leave a Reply

