Tomato & Spinach Tortellini

Posted: April 17, 2012 in Dinner Recipe
Tags: , , , , ,

When the picky eater husband asks what’s for dinner, I normally avoid a direct answer until I’m too deep into cooking to turn back. But when he asked while I was prepping this, I straight up answered. He seemed a little surprised until I reminded him that I’d made this a couple times before and he liked it.

Spinach _Tomato_Tortellini(pinned here)

Spinach_Tomato_Tortellini

Verdict

Nailed it. This is one of my favorite meals – it’s quick, it’s easy, it’s delicious both when you make it and as leftovers, and the husband doesn’t make a face when I tell him what’s for dinner.

Alterations

I’ve never used heavy cream due to the fact that I’d rather not have a heart attack at 28. Instead, I’ve used 1% milk for both 3/4 cups, and I’ve substituted evaporated milk for one of the 3/4 cups. Honestly, I couldn’t tell a difference. And since I’d rather not have leftover evaporated milk sitting in the fridge begging to be used, I’m sticking with 1% milk all the way. I also add grilled chicken, more spinach than it calls for (I promise that’s not olives in the photo), and top it with Parmesan rather than mix it in. (My cheese mixing skills are lacking and it always winds up clumpy.)

Original recipe from AllRecipes.

 

Leave a Reply

