Broiled Zucchini with Potatoes & Parmesan Crust

Posted: May 23, 2012 in Side Dish
Tags: , , , ,

Somehow it’s been a year since the husband and I came home to this:

ApartmentYes, the tornado actually hit a year ago yesterday (May 22), but we were in Kansas City that day and unable to get into Joplin and our apartment until the 23rd. Obviously we didn’t sleep much that night.

Yesterday was an interesting day. The city did a great job with the Walk of Unity which was followed by the Day of Unity memorial service. We didn’t stay for the service, but the Walk of Unity had a strong celebratory feel to it (all 3.7 miles of it – yes, my feet are still tired) which I thought was perfectly fitting as we made stops along the way to raise a steeple, break ground at the high school, and re-open a business. It also made me reflect on just how chaotic this time last year was. I really just wanted 2 things – to go home and to make dinner. Of course, I could do neither. But this year I could. And once we finished the walk, that’s exactly what I did.

Broiled Zucchini & Potatoes(pinned here)

Broiled Zucchini & Potatoes

Verdict

Failed it and nailed it. Makes perfect sense, I know. Obviously mine got a bit charred. Oddly enough that didn’t happen during the broiling – it happened in the pan. Maybe you’re supposed to flip them during the 12-15 minutes? All I know is they were rather charred which made me think the Parmesan was an attempt to cover that up. Regardless, it was delicious.

Alterations

Clearly I didn’t include potatoes. I did, however, add in some summer squash with the zucchini.

Original recipe from Cooking Channel.

Leave a Reply

