Homemade Rice A Roni

Posted: June 28, 2012 in Side Dish
Tags: , , , ,

Growing up, we lived 4-5 hours from my grandparents (it depended on traffic as we were leaving Chicagoland). Consequently, we spent every major holiday with them – either at our house or at theirs. Spending the holiday at my grandparents’ house involved my two sisters and I sharing a room. This always resulted in either a) much giggling, or b) much fighting. Occasionally, however, it would involve both a and b. Like the night my youngest sister would not stop singing the Rice A Roni jingle.

Homemade Rice A Roni(pinned here)

Homemade Rice A Roni

Verdict

Nailed it. I’m normally hesitant of homemade rice recipes because they’re typically very bland. But for some reason I decided to give it a whirl anyway, and I’m glad I did. I suggested maybe adding an herb next time, but the husband told me I should leave it alone.

Alterations

As I’m sure you’ve figured out by now, I’ve got a lot of noodle action going on up there. That’s because I didn’t have as much rice (I used brown) as I thought I did. I ended up with just under 3/4 cup of rice and used noodles (thin spaghetti) to fill. It worked.

Original Recipe from a {modern} christian woman.

Leave a Reply

