Strawberry Shortcake Muffins

Posted: July 18, 2012 in Dessert Recipe
Tags: , , , ,

Things I do not like: slow drivers, bugs, and fruit in my dessert.

Yes, you read that right – I do not like fruit in my dessert. Apple pie? Peach cobbler? Pass. I’m the kid whose strawberry shortcake consisted of shortcake and whipped cream. For as long as I can remember, if you put fruit within a two mile radius of my dessert, I would turn it down.

Obviously times are beginning to change.

Strawberry Shortcake Muffins(pinned here)

Strawberry Shortcake Muffins

Verdict

Nailed it. I made these for a church small group meeting and received a “You’re a hell of a cook” for it. (Of course, this was from the same woman who was blown away by my 4th of July cupcakes that came from a box.) If, however, you’re looking for a super sweet dessert, this is not it. But at about 110 calories a pop, they’d also double as an excellent breakfast.

Alterations

I used vanilla Greek yogurt instead of plain, skipped the lemon juice, and topped them with Cool Whip. I’d also recommend using a food processor or real blender as opposed to a hand blender. That or invest in a hand blender that has an on/off switch rather than a button you have to hold down the entire time you’re blending resulting in serious hand cramps. (If one of those actually exists, please tell me?)

Original recipe from omnomalicious.

Comments
  1. […] I was looking at our stats and noticed that someone posted about how awesome my strawberry shortcake muffins are. They really are delicious. So, you should all make them. My friend Megan made them last week, I […]

Leave a Reply

