Yogurt Covered Blueberries

Posted: July 25, 2012 in Snack Recipe
Tags: , , , , ,

The Thanksgiving after I graduated college, my parents informed me that they both had high cholesterol and blood pressure – which obviously bodes well for my future. They immediately started to change the way they ate and added regular exercise in to the mix, and I quickly followed suit because I figured it would be easier to make the changes now than 20 years down the road.

And then came the news that crushed my soul – my dad’s doctor had told him to watch his sugar intake.

If you know me at all, you know that dessert is my kryptonite. Cutting out fast food and switching to whole grain pasta? No problem. But to curb my sugar intake? Are you trying to kill me?!?!?

Yogurt Covered Blueberries(pinned here)

Yogurt Covered Blueberries

Verdict

Nailed it. I’m not saying I’d replace “real” dessert with these, but they make an excellent snack. Or breakfast. Not that I did that while my husband wondered aloud why I can’t eat a “normal” breakfast on the weekends.

Alterations

I used vanilla Greek yogurt instead of honey. I also forgot about them so they spent close to 24 hours on the cookie sheet which resulted in just a bit of freezer burn. While they’re still delectable, you might want to set a timer so you don’t do the same thing.

Original recipe from The Caffeinated Chronicles of Supermom.

 

Leave a Reply

