Eggplant Sandwiches

Posted: August 1, 2012 in Dinner Recipe
Tags: , , , ,

Not long after I moved to South Carolina, a friend who lives in Texas came to visit me. His parents live around Gatlinburg, so I drove him up to their house before he flew back to Texas. While we were there, his mom made dinner. Normally I’m not one to eat something I’m convinced I won’t like just because someone made it. But for some reason, his mom has this authoritative food power. And that, kids, is how I found myself eating eggplant. . .and liking it.

Eggplant Sandwiches(pinned here)

Eggplant Sandwiches

Verdict

Nailed it. I made this one night while the husband worked late because I had a feeling I’d get the side eye if I tried to pass this off as dinner when he was home. I made it again when he worked late the next night. And when he worked late two days later, I used up the last of my eggplant and cried. Seriously. This is that good.

Alterations

The first time I made it, I used Italian breadcrumbs and Parmesan (I have no wheat germ and, to be completely honest, am not 100% sure what wheat germ is). The second time I skipped the breading because I was feeling lazy and separating an egg sounded like a lot of work. (Sidenote: as I’m re-reading the instructions to make sure I didn’t make any other alterations, I see where it says to use a whole egg, not just an egg white. Maybe one day I’ll learn to read all the words.)

Original recipe from Scratch-Made Wife.

Leave a Reply

