Bruschetta with Tomato & Basil

Posted: August 15, 2012 in Appetizer Recipe, Skinny Recipe
Tags: , , , , ,

Bruschetta used to scare me. I think it was the fact that it mainly consists of tomatoes which, as you’ll recall, I did not eat. That all changed during my unexpected 9 month paid vacation (some might call it “unemployment”, but some might not have vision).

My best friend drove down to spend a couple days with me, and one night we went to the Eric Church concert where we met up with the husband. After the show, we stopped at the husband’s and my favorite pizza place for dinner. Normally the hubs and I get the hummus as an appetizer, but the BFF was feeling bruschetta. The hubs and I decided to be brave and go with it.

And a monster was created.

Bruschetta with Tomato and Basil(pinned here)

Bruschetta with Tomato and Basil

Verdict

Nailed it. Pizza night will now be considered incomplete if this bruschetta is not invited to the party. I was a little apprehensive making it because a) the hubs isn’t the world’s biggest fan of balsamic vinegar, and b) making a new dish when friends are coming over for dinner is always a little nerve wracking. But based on the fact that we all inhaled this, I’d say I made the right decision.

Alterations

I cut back on the red onion, used dried basil because it’s what I had, and didn’t rub the bread with garlic.

Original recipe from Skinnytaste.

Leave a Reply

