Cheesy Baked Spaghetti Squash Boats with Grilled Chicken

Posted: January 16, 2013 in Dinner Recipe, Skinny Recipe
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Remember back in August(ish) when all the squash recipes started making the rounds on blogs and Pinterest? That’s when I vowed I would do something with squash this year. And yes, it’s seriously taken me this long to actually follow through with that vow. I’m blaming it on the fact that I work 8-5 Monday through Friday. It’s a pretty legit excuse because, really, who wants to spend an hour roasting squash after they get home from work? (I understand that the roasting part is incredibly easy – it’s the hour part I have a problem with. We tend to get hangry in my house.)

But this past Saturday, I said, “Enough is enough! We shall feast upon squash!” And feast we did.

Skinny Taste: Cheesy Baked Spaghetti Squash Boats with Grilled Chicken(pinned here)

Nailed It/Failed It: Cheesy Baked Spaghetti Squash Boats with Grilled Chicken

Verdict

Nailed it. My only regret is waiting this long to try spaghetti squash. Well, that and not having a sharper knife. The fluffing of the spaghetti squash is like a culinary magic trick. It was literally my favorite part, and I can’t wait to do it again.

Alterations

I used 2 chicken breasts which I seasoned with Italian seasoning and then grilled on George.

 

 

 

 

Original recipe from Skinnytaste.

Comments
  1. I love the idea of using the squash as a serving dish! It makes clean-up so much easier. I’ve barely worked with squash too, but it sounds like it’s worth trying!

Leave a Reply

