As a Chicagoland native, snow doesn’t scare me. It makes me whiny, but it doesn’t scare me. I can handle shoveling snow. I can handle driving on snow. I can handle closing the blinds so I don’t have to look at the snow. Ice, on the other hand, leaves me completely bewildered. And that’s where I was last week.

That huge snowstorm that dumped about a foot of snow over Kansas City and Wichita last week? We got the ice that went along with it. About 2 inches of sleet total. And while I had no idea what to do with that ice, I did know that soup was in order.

Nailed It/Failed It: Broccoli Cheese Soup

Verdict

Nailed it. I’m slightly obsessed with the broccoli cheese soup at Panera (as in I get it every time, even if it’s 100 degrees out) and have been trollin’ for a broccoli cheese soup recipe for years. No but really. Years. Every recipe before this left me disappointed. This one, though, is a keeper. And not just because I miraculously got the cheddar to melt without getting clumpy.

Alterations

None.

I know.

 

 

Original recipe from Eat Your Heart Out.

Leave a Reply

