Every once in awhile, the husband and I run through the list of things he will and will not eat. It normally happens after I do things like threaten to make ham for Easter or tell him I used mayo (both at the top of the Will Not Eat list). This latest listing led to the revelation that the husband is a huge fan of chicken cordon bleu. After the shock wore off, I spent a solid 20 minutes harassing him about his ham hypocrisy and then got excited about the prospect of bringing chicken cordon bleu into our lives. Really excited. Overly excited if I’m being completely honest.

For awhile now, I’ve been pinning chicken cordon bleu recipes, knowing full well I’d most likely never actually make it due to the ham hatred. But I couldn’t help myself – I’d see it and pin it, Pavlov style. So when it came to choosing which recipe to replicate, there was obviously only one way to settle it – whichever one I stumbled upon first.

 

Nailed It/Failed It: Skinny Chicken Cordon Bleu

Verdict

Nailed it. Stunning, isn’t it? I know I blew my mind with my impressive chicken rolling skills. Just kidding. It looks like a hot mess. But it was delicious so I don’t even care. I’d even serve it to company looking like this because sometimes taste trumps presentation. Who am I kidding? Taste always trumps presentation in my kitchen.

Alterations

I used thinly sliced chicken rather than slicing the breasts myself since I’m not what you’d call majestic with a knife. I also added some Panko to the breadcrumb mixture, used tacon instead of ham, and did, indeed, rock the toothpicks. The tacon was partially because I had it already and partially because I’m still skeptical of the husband being down with “real” chicken cordon bleu. In fact, we actually renamed it Chicken Cordon Boo. (We’re obnoxious and call each other boo – we were even pronounced “husband and wife and boos for life” at our wedding. I know.)

 

 

 

Original recipe from Skinnytaste.

Leave a Reply

