Homemade Chipotle Burrito Bowls

Posted: March 27, 2013 in Dinner Recipe, Lunch Recipe
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’d say the husband is obsessed with Chipotle, but that really doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface. The man would eat nothing but 5 pound burritos if a) we weren’t poor, b) it wouldn’t kill him, and c) we had a Chipotle in town. One of these obstacles is about to be removed – they’re in the process of building a Chipotle (right across the street from Qdoba which should be interesting). And in my opinion, this isn’t happening a moment too soon. Because once Chipotle opens here, I will no longer be forced to forgo any restaurant that is not Chipotle when we go out of town.  Hallelujah.

But between now and then, the husband will continue to gaze longingly at the construction site, and I will continue to make burrito bowls at home.

 

Nailed It/Failed It: Homeamde Chipotle Burrito Bowls

Verdict

Despite the husband listing all the ways in which this is not exactly like Chipotle, I’m saying nailed it. These were good, you guys. Really really good. And it came together crazy fast. Like 20 minutes fast.

Alterations

See that line above about the husband telling me how it’s not exactly like Chipotle? That’s because I can’t follow directions in the kitchen.

Rice: I halved it and skipped the cilantro.

Beans: I skipped the cayenne.

Chicken: I used this taco seasoning and grilled it on George.

As you can tell from the picture, I added some shredded Mexican blend cheese and what I like to call salsamole (it looks like baby poop but tastes like puppies and rainbows). I ate mine bowl style, but the husband wrapped his in a tortilla.

 

 

 

 

Original recipe from Iowa Girl Eats.

Leave a Reply

