On Sunday, the husband and I took the front yard from this:

before

to this:

after

Yes, we dug up the grass and planted half of what Lowes has to offer in one day. Why? Because we’re hardcore. Or idiots. Your call really. Either way, I’d say it’s pretty obvious neither of us had done a project like this before and didn’t realize just how long of a day it would be. But before we got started, I had a stroke of brilliance and realized the last thing I would want to do after spending all day digging up the yard is cook. Yet I also suspected we’d be ravenous. Thus I enlisted my good friend the Crock Pot (I’d say best friend but Advil’s holding that title).

 

Nailed It/Failed It: Slow Cooker Chicken Black Bean Tacos

Verdict

Nailed it. These were everything I ever wanted on Sunday – easy and delicious. And yes, I realize it’s a real crap photo but I had just spent 7 hours in the yard and barely had the strength to hit the turn signal in my car. So basically what I’m saying is. . .you can deal.

Alterations

I cooked it on low for 5 hours, skipped the slaw, and served them on tortillas topped with cheese and guac.

 

 

 

Original recipe from Skinnytaste.

Comments
  1. Your yard looks awesome! Well done!

  2. Jenn says:

    Thank you! I think pre-landscaped will be a requirement for the next house we buy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

