I was born a White Sox fan. Actually, if you want to get technical about it, I was a Sox fan even before I was born. That’s right – I was attending games in the womb. Like a boss. Or a fetus. Whatever. My point here is I am a die hard White Sox fan. Where most people will turn a game off in disgust, I will suffer through to the bitter end because, “There’s still time for a comeback!” And this season is providing suffering like none I’ve known before.

Take this weekend. The husband had to work a station event on Saturday which left me at home with my good friends Hawk and Steve Stone. All 3 of us died a little that night. And Sunday an even bigger piece of me died because a) it was just painful to lose like that, and b) I was there. When it all came crashing down in the 10th, the husband essentially dragged me out of the stadium while repeating, “Walk of shame. Walk of shame,” while I ranted and raved for a solid hour.

So you can see why I relied on my good friend The Captain and my new friend Cheesy Corn Brisket Nachos to get me through that experience. It’s okay, though. Because Saturday night, I pregamed with quinoa. Like a boss. Or someone who doesn’t understand what pregaming is. Your call really.

Nailed It/Failed It: Quinoa Vegetable Lasagna

Verdict

Nailed it. Stunning, isn’t it? I even let it sit for 10 minutes (which I never do) and it still came out looking mangled (like lasagna always does). And yet, I honestly didn’t care. This was delicious the night I made it and, per the rules of baked pasta dishes, even better as leftovers.

Alterations

I think it’s pretty clear by now where I stand on fungus so it’s safe to say I skipped the mushrooms. I also used ricotta instead of cottage cheese, frozen spinach instead of fresh, and a zucchini/yellow squash mix instead of straight zucchini.

Original recipe from Eating Well.

Leave a Reply

