Fat Spaghetti with Bacon & Cherry Tomato Sauce

Posted: September 25, 2013 in Dinner Recipe
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Typically I feel no apprehension while writing this blog. I find a picture that makes my stomach growl, add it to the weekly menu, make the husband antsy while I take a few photos (can I call Instagram pics “photos”?), slap it up on the blog, and call it a day. But this time, I’m feeling a bit of apprehension.

I don’t know if it’s because I follow The Mom Chef so her blog seems super legit, or if it’s because she actually follows the recipe whereas I cook like my grandma (applesauce in all the things!). Maybe it’s because I really like her blog and didn’t want to have to face the possibility of a “failed it”. Or maybe it’s because she has the word “mom” in her name which strikes an inherent fear of disappointing her.

Whatever the reason, just know that there was apprehension abound last night as I cooked dinner. And it’s carrying over to the moment I hit “publish”.

 

Nailed It/Failed It: Fat Spaghetti with Bacon & Cherry Tomato Sauce

Verdict

Nailed it. ::phew:: You guys. You guys. This was so much better than I dared hope it would be. Even the husband went back for seconds which, as you know, is HUGE in and of itself, but when tomatoes are involved???

Make this. Immediately.

Alterations

I used tacon (duh), angel hair because pasta is pasta is pasta (shhhhh, Italy, it’s okay), white onion because it was sitting in my fridge begging to be used, roasted broccoli because it couldn’t stand to leave its BFF onion (they came home from the hospital grocery store together), and topped it with Parmesan rather than mix it in. Oh, and I never used a lid because I’m a rebel.

 

 

 

Original recipe from Taking On Magazines.

Comments

Leave a Reply

